Levelled out, but things ‘Seam’ off

This week the whole of the ground floor has finally been assembled, including all wall, floor and ceiling architecture. Though some major lighting issues have raised their heads.

As can be seen in the video, the use of modular wall sections in Unreal is not supported without a lot of extra work. This may mean i have to take each section of room and join it into singular walls. It’s not a lot of work and luckily I have a few days slack time before my next task completion in my hack n plan.

2017-01-26-21_06_28-program-manager

I did try to find a work around for the issue by posting a picture of the issue on the Epic forums (https://forums.unrealengine.com/showthread.php?134472-Modular-Environment-Seams).

Name:  2017-01-19 14_04_56-Raptured_Prototype - Unreal Editor.png Views: 112 Size:  894.1 KB

I got a reply that directed me to the Unreal troubleshooting page about lighting (https://wiki.unrealengine.com/LightingTroubleshootingGuide#Shadow_Seams.2FShading_Differences_with_Indirect_Lighting).

Sadly this is a known issue and there is a work around but so far it hasn’t helped much.

So some additional modelling on the architecture is therefore required, but since I have already made headway on my prop modelling it won’t put me too far out of schedule.

Ollie.

 

Leave a Reply

